Absolution

October 4, 2008

In the mid-eighties, I had a Puerto Rican babysitter who banged basically every dude from every New York Hardcore band.

My parents worked and I was a total latchkey kid so this girl pretty much raised me. I went everywhere with her and she introduced me to everyone. This was all when I was between the ages of 8 and 12 years old and it happened to be during a very special time for New York City music.

She made sure I got Criminal Minded the day it came out, she taught me the importance of taping Dahved Levy’s reggae show every week, she taught me the Kid N Play, and most importantly, she turned me on to a wide range of music spanning everyone from the Native Tongues to the Gorilla Buscuits.

Now, as I mentioned earlier, she was a bit of a groupie for dudes in hardcore bands. I’m not gonna say which ones, so don’t ask.

She would take me to CBGBs almost every Sunday for the hardcore matinees and I saw a million bands like Bad Brains, Youth Of Today, Side By Side, Up Front, Bold, Sick Of It All, the Gorilla Buscuits, Chain Of Strength, and a million more I’m not thinking about right now.

It was so cool for me and I was a little ass kid who was amazed by this whole scene. I was never totally into the music but I always had a finely-tuned ear. Amid all of this, one day, one band seriously stood out to me. They were a hardcore band called Absolution.

I’m no hardcore expert, but, in my opinion, Absolution ushered in an era of more melodic hard stuff. They begat Burn (Featuring members of Absolution), who begat Orange 9mm, who begat Quicksand and so on and so forth into a who’s who of ’90s alternative acts. All of this stuff eventually led to Emo. I think. I don’t really know what Emo sounds like but I’m sure it’s some sort of lame evolution of this stuff.

This all started with the awesome Absolution seven inch which is, by far, one of my favorite hardcore records from that period. (Some may say that Minor Threat started this trend but I don’t really care enough about any of this to argue. So, whatever, fine.)

You can listen to the whole release here on Absolution’s Myspage page.

Anyway, Absolution’s singer was a dude named Djinji Brown. Djinji really changed the game up in a way that, I feel, has impacted rock music to this very day. He is an unsung hero of sorts.

Another cool thing to know about Djinji is that his father is famed jazz flautist Marion Brown and there is even a photograph of an infant Djinji on the inside cover of Marion’s Geechee Recollections album.

Anyway, I hadn’t heard anything about Djinji Brown for many years. Then, around ’95, I recieved a promo of the Supernatural single “Buddah Blessed.” I liked the record and when I checked the credits, I was surprised to see that it was produced by none other than your boy Djinji Brown.

It was a decent, ’90s style beat with atmospheric vibraphone samples and chunky, SP1200 drums. Unfortunately, I didn’t hear much more music from Djinji for maybe another 7 years. The next time I heard music from Djinji it was a cd someone gave me and I immediately noticed his name. I was disappointed when I listened and heard drum n bass music. I don’t even understand drum n bass at all so I’m gonna stop talking about that right now.

Anyway, to recap, Djinji Brown and Absolution are very dope. Marion Brown is also dope if you’re into out-there, awesome, avant-garde, jazz stuff.

Thank you.

 

Djinji Brown Circa 1988

New York City Hardcore Show Flyer With Character By Todd “Reas AOK” James

One Response to “Absolution”

  1. Djinji Brown Says:

    Thank you for your kind and honest words. And thank goodness for that babysitter!!!!

    Djinji


Leave a Reply

