Mild Style

October 6, 2008

I am about to make a statement that many hip-hop purists will consider downright blasphemous.

Wild Style fucking sucks.

Come on. Admit it.

I know it is required viewing for any would-be hip-hop fan, but as a movie, Wild Style just plain blows.

Although lacking any sort of quality as a dramatic, scripted film, director Charlie Ahearn’s ode to hip-hop’s toddler years does, indeed, serve as a thorough compendium and who’s who catalog of a magical time in hip-hop and New York City history. I’ll definitely give it that.

The cameos by the era’s impresarios like artist Lee Quinones and nightlife personality “Fab Five” Freddy are great. The artwork and dancing are great. The groundbreaking, unbelievable soundtrack by Blondie’s Chris Stein is great. The rap performances, great. Double Trouble’s “Stoop Rap” is legendary. All those parts still do not make a memorable whole.

Honestly, Beat Street was my shit.

As mister hip-hop nerd guy, I’m not supposed to say that. But it’s true. I fucking loved loved loved Beat Street.

There is no question that, as a film, Beat Street kicked ass.

Yeah, I said it. I don’t give a fuck.

Beat Street was great and Wild Style sucked.

“Cotton field chants and hollers. Very fresh!”

2 Responses to “Mild Style”

  1. Fancy Says:

    Seconded. I’d even put Breakin’ above WS. “She ain’t no street dancer!”

  2. Fancy Says:

    Seconded. I’d even put Breakin’ above WS. “She ain’t no street dancer!”


Leave a Reply

